Types of Raid Levels


RAID refers to redundant array of independent disks, it help you to combine multiple storage disks into single logical unit. Data is distributed across the disks, depend up on Raid level used. Multiple raid levels are available, we are focusing on 4 raid levels which are most widely used on IT industries.

The following RAID levels are widely used.


Data splits across the disks.

Provides Faster access and better Performance

Required Minimum of Two disks.

Provides Increased size of disk space.

No data redundancy.

Can not recover the data if any one disk fails.


Data Mirrored (Exact copy) with other disk.

Provides Better Performance and Reliability.

Required Minimum of Two disks.

Provides disk space as big as half of disk space combined or smallest member disk of the raid group.

Data redundancy through mirroring.




Disk Space:

Data splits across the disk with parity of data.

Low cost and provides better performance.

Required Minimum of three disks.

Provides disk space as big as smallest member disk multiplied by the no of disks minus one.

Data redundancy through the parity data.

RAID 10:

Data splits across the mirrored disk.

Raid 10 is the combination of Raid 0’s and Raid 1’s.

Provides better performance

Provides better redundancy.

Required Minimum of 4 disks.



You might also like